top of page

The Yearly Disease Is Back Again

With every new year comes a disease that we all hope to never catch. This year we tried to avoid it as much as possible but unfortunately it snuck up on us when we were least expecting it.

This disease can affect just about everybody but it’s more common to be caught by seniors. The very contagious disease that I speak of is known as senioritis.

Senioritis is back again and even though it has been affecting some of our seniors since even before the school year started, it is hitting harder than ever because of the point in the school year we are in.

The end of the school year is quickly approaching and the expected graduation date for seniors is scheduled to be June 1, 2019. With this being so close, students are dragging themselves to the finish line. In addition to this, a lot of our seniors have already received their college admission acceptances and this makes school feel even longer when it only two months away.

When I asked a couple of my fellow seniors about their senioritis they both explained how it can be a pain to have something drag you down right when you're almost to the end.

Senior Jeffrey Pope, who won the superlative title “senioritis” mentioned that he didn't expect senioritis to hit him this hard.

“Since I was able to get through with my procrastination these past four years of high school, it gave me the mentality that I could incorporate it to college and my life outside of school which is a very bad habit. However, I am slowly trying to digress from that mentality because of how bad it has got during my senior year.”

When senior Aldair Torres was asked the same question about senioritis, he said, “It has made being in school pretty tough, I have hit the point where I know where I’m going to college and now I am just trying to maintain my grades and keep them up. The hardest thing about having senioritis is ignoring the mentality of,’none of this end of the year work matters if I know where I’m going to college’, even though the work does matter.”

Although senioritis is an infectious “disease”, it is very possible to avoid it or overcome it. The best advice many seniors can give to younger classmen is try and find the fun in your education or find any kind of motivation because if you simply give up before it’s over then you will be miserable in the end.


bottom of page